British Columbia Library Association

Provincial Digital Library (PDL)

Context

On April 17, 2014, Hon. Bill Bennett, Minister of Energy and Mines and Minister Responsible for Core Review, and Hon. Amrik Virk, Minister of Advanced Education, announced a new Provincial Digital Library (PDL). Emerging out of the BC government’s Core Review, the proposed PDL is expected to expand public access to academic research and openly licensed library resources across academic, school and public libraries.

The PDL could be conceptualized as a phased, multi-year project, guided by an over-arching vision of access to the intellectual, historical and cultural record of the Province for the people of British Columbia. In its simplest form, a PDL’s intent is to provide access to a range of materials that may enrich the intellectual and leisure life of a citizen, showcase the contributions of individuals, organizations and government, and contribute to the economic well-being of the province.

Since the announcement, work has begun to define what a PDL could provide, an environmental scan was undertaken to determine what digitization initiatives are currently in place in the Province, and a collaborative digital repository (Arca) within the post-secondary sector has been established. A November 4 discussion forum and a May 10 Symposium engaged the community in discussion.

PDL Guiding Principles

In envisioning and supporting the development of a PDL, a set of guiding principles will serve as an anchor. These common values can form the foundation for ongoing dialogue, engagement, and collaboration across institutions, organizations, and sectors.

At the core of these values is the deeply held belief and commitment to the public good.

These principles were reviewed and endorsed at the May 10, 2016 Symposium.

Meetings and Reports

Feel free to share all reports broadly to generate more ideas and energy for the initiative.

PDL Steering Committee

Please contact members of the Steering Committee listed below with questions.

Tim Atkinson, BC ELN PDL Resource Group Chair, Vancouver Island University – Tim.Atkinson@viu.ca
Jenny Benedict, ABCPLD Chair, West Vancouver Public Library – jbenedict@westvanlibrary.ca
Anita Cocchia, Executive Director, BC ELN – anitac@eln.bc.ca
Caroline Daniels, BCLA Past President, Kwantlen Polytechnic University – caroline.daniels@kpu.ca
Christina de Castell, Collections & Technology, Vancouver Public Library – Christina.deCastell@vpl.ca
Annette DeFaveri, Executive Director, BCLA – execdir@bcla.bc.ca
Ben Hyman, Executive Director, BC Libraries Co-op – ben.hyman@bc.libraries.coop
Shirley Lew, Library Director, Vancouver Community College – slew@vcc.ca
Max Otte, Archives Association of BC Incoming President, Digital Information Strategist, Government of BC  – Maxwell.Otte@gov.bc.ca
Debbie Schachter, CPSLD Chair, Douglas College – schachterd@douglascollege.ca
Bronwen Sprout, Head, Digital Programs and Services, University of British Columbia – bronwen.sprout@ubc.ca
Dave Stewart, Digital Manager, Royal BC Museum – DStewart@royalbcmuseum.bc.ca
Denise Williams, First Nations Technology Council – Denise.Williams@fntc.info